With its breathtaking, panoramic views, it is little wonder that couples would want to get married in Alaska. Alaska marriage licenses cost just $25.00, making them very affordable for all budgets. Marriage licenses are payable in cash and in full. What else do you need to know if you and your fiancé(e) plan to marry in Alaska?
Residency and Tests
Couples do not need to be residents of Alaska to be able to get married in the state; nor are any blood tests or physical examinations required for the bride and groom.
There is a compulsory 3 day waiting period from the time the marriage license application is filed until it is issued to the bride and groom. It is important to be aware that the waiting period does not usually include weekends or holidays and in some cases, the date the application for a marriage license is filed will not be included in the waiting period. However, once the marriage license is issued, it is valid immediately.
Alaska Marriage license
An Alaska marriage license is valid as soon as it is issued for up to 90 days, and can be used anywhere in the state of Alaska. The bride and groom must present valid photographic identification along with their marriage license application. If they post or fax their marriage license application, the application must be witnessed by a Notary Public.
Cousin marriages are permitted in the state of Alaska.
Divorce and Widowhood
Couples who have been previously married must be able to provide the date of the divorce, annulment or death of their previous or late spouse(s). In addition, couples who have been divorced or widowed within the last 60 days must present a certified copy of their divorce decree or a copy of their late spouse’s death certificate before they can marry in Alaska.
Officiants who are licensed to perform marriages must present the bride and groom with a marriage certificate after they are married and then report their marriage to the Marriage Commissioner.
Couples planning an Alaskan wedding do not need to be residents of Alaska; nor are they required to submit to any physical tests before they can marry in Alaska, which makes this a desirable location to marry. To learn more about where to apply for a marriage license in Alaska, consult the County Clerk’s Office that has jurisdiction over the county where you will marry. Click here for a full guide to County Clerk Office.
U.S. Marriage Laws
Alaska Marriage License Information, Laws, Requirements