Nevada is a desirable location for many couples to get married, as the state does not require the bride and groom to submit to compulsory blood tests or be residents of Nevada before they are allowed to marry. Nevada marriage laws are the same for U.S. citizens and non-citizens alike. Read on to learn more about Nevada marriage laws and what you will need to do to meet the marriage requirements.
Persons over the age of 18 who do not have a husband or wife still living are free to marry in the state of Nevada. However, minors under the age of 18, who are at least 16 years of age are permitted to marry as long as they have the consent of their parents or legal guardians. Parents or legal guardians should be present. If they cannot be present, they must provide express written consent that has been signed and stamped by a notary public.
Divorcees are allowed to marry in Nevada without having to present a copy of their final divorce decree to the marriage license office as proof of their single status. But they must know the exact date (month and year) and location (city and state) where the divorce was finalized in order to obtain a marriage license in Nevada.
Two witnesses are typically required when a marriage ceremony is performed. However, Nevada law only requires one witness to a marriage ceremony conducted in Nevada. You can still choose to have two witnesses present at your wedding ceremony if you so wish. But this is not a legal requirement.
Nevada Marriage License
Both the bride and groom are required at the time that their marriage license is issued, except in the case of extenuating circumstances. If your fiancé(e) cannot accompany you, contact the marriage license office in advance to find out whether you can be issued with a single signature marriage license. This is at the discretion of the supervisor or manager. Once a marriage license is issued in Nevada, this will be valid for 12 months, but only for marriage ceremonies performed in Nevada. If you use your marriage license to marry in a state other than Nevada, your marriage will not be legal.
Nevada County Clerk’s Office
Couples who wish to marry in Nevada must apply for a marriage license from the Nevada County Clerk’s Office. Click here for a full list of Nevada County Clerk’s Office nearest to you.
US Marriage Laws