Are you planning to marry in New Mexico? If so, are you prepared for the legal requirements of your marriage? Read on to learn of the legal marriage requirements in New Mexico.
It costs between $25-$50.00 for a New Mexico marriage license, payable in full and in cash on the date of the appointment. The bride and groom must both be present to sign for their New Mexico marriage license, when issued from the County Clerk’s Office. Persons aged 18 and above do not require parental consent to marry in New Mexico. However, minors aged 16 or 17 must have the consent of their parents or guardians to marry. Minors aged 15 can only legally marry in New Mexico if they have a court order. Once a marriage license has been issued, make sure you bring it along to your marriage ceremony, so that it can be signed by two witnesses and the officiator.
Waiting Period or Tests
There is no waiting period for couples to marry in New Mexico; nor are any blood tests or other exams required before they can marry.
Marriage License Hotline
The bride and groom should contact the New Mexico marriage license hotline at (505) 768-4313 to learn more about the legal requirements of applying for a marriage license in New Mexico.
Marriage License Validity
Once a New Mexico marriage license is issued, it is valid immediately, which means you are free to marry the same day if you so wish. Although marriage licenses do not expire, the marriage license can be used throughout New Mexico, within 12 months after it is issued.
If either, or both, the bride and groom have been married before, they must bring along documentary proof that their prior marriage(s) ended in death, divorce or annulment. The date of death, divorce or annulment must be supplied at the time that the bride and groom apply for a New Mexico marriage license.
Residents and Foreign Nationals
Couples who marry in New Mexico do not need to be residents of the state to legally marry in New Mexico. U.S. citizens are required to show proof of their Social Security number when they apply for a marriage license, as well as other photographic identification and certified copies of their birth certificates. Foreign nationals must present their passports for verification and identity purposes when they apply for a marriage license in New Mexico.
Click here to learn more about marriage laws in the state of New Mexico and where to go to collect your New Mexico marriage license.
U.S. Marriage Laws