Many people today want to eat foods that are gluten free. Just a few years ago we didn’t hear much about gluten, but now it’s very popular to request or require gluten free foods. Gluten is a kind of protein found in wheat, barley and rye. That is why people on a gluten free diet have to keep away from most breads and cereals. There are grains that are free from gluten and they include: corn, wild rice, buckwheat, amaranth, millet, soybeans, oats, sunflower seeds and quinoa.
Most of the time it is not necessary to eliminate all of the gluten from any food. The FDA even has a rule in place that says if most of the Gluten is removed, then the food product can be labeled gluten-free.
Those who suffer from gluten allergy or celiac disease cannot digest gluten. That is why their system needs food free from gluten to remain healthy. The effects of the disease can be anything from bloating and abdominal swelling to chronic depression. For someone suffering from gluten intolerance it can be a little difficult to choose the right foods. Since the effects of gluten allergy are devastating, it is a good idea to completely stay away from wheat products even if the labels scream that it is gluten free.
When having cornmeal pizza, find out if the product is really gluten free. This is because most of the cornmeal pizzas use wheat as a thickening product. Similar care should be taken when eating oats since they are normally processed along with wheat grains. That means that the oats might contain some gluten content after-all.
The best bet is to cook at home so you can be sure what the ingredients are, rather than eating out. You can find a lot of gluten free recipes here:
But even if you decide to eat out, there are a lot of food choices available to the gluten intolerant customer. Restaurants have a number of foods on their menus that are gluten free. You can find some menus here:
The best way to take care of celiac disease is to be careful about the kind of foods you eat. Granted it is not easy, because many gluten products are quite tasty. It can be difficult to avoid the tasty cakes or donuts! But you can have a lot of food choices available in the form of substituted flours. Rice flour and corn flour have been used to make some delectable desserts! Once you begin a gluten free lifestyle it will get easier every day.